clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2008 Basketball Schedule Breakdown

New, 16 comments

If you're anything like me, you can't wait to see Ralph Sampson III and the new look Gophers in action when the basketball season starts in September. Well, we now officially know who the Gophers will play, when and where thanks to a release from the UofM communications staff this afternoon.

A couple quick notes.

The non-conference schedule is weak as it was last year. The Gophers do face Louisville on a neutral site, but other than that and an ACC/Big Ten Challenge game with Virginia at The Barn, the non-conference slate should be a cakewalk.

Because of that relatively soft slate, and assuming the Gophers don't beat Louisville, Tubby Smith's new team will likely need to win 10 or more games in the conference to justify an NCAA Tournament bid.

Because of the unbalanced Big Ten schedule, the Gophers only play Purdue and Iowa once. The Gophers get a good draw here, playing Purdue at home and Iowa on the road. Purdue is my early season favorite to win the conference, so this certainly bodes well for the Gophers.

Here's my quick breakdown of the schedule

Friday, November14
Concordia-St. Paul (NABC Classic) -- WIN

Saturday, November 15
Bowling Green (NABC Classic) -- WIN

Sunday, November16
Georgia State (NABC Classic) -- WIN

Saturday, November 22
At Colorado State --- WIN

Wednesday, November 26
Eastern Washington ---- WIN

Saturday, November 29
North Dakota State ---- WIN

Tuesday, December 2
Virginia -- ACC/Big Ten Challenge -- WIN

Saturday, December 6
Cornell ----- WIN

Wednesday, December 10
South Dakota State ----- WIN

Saturday, December 20
Louisville (Stadium Shootout at University of Phoenix Stadium) --- LOSS

Tuesday, December 23
Southeastern Louisiana --- WIN

Sunday, December 28
High Point ----- WIN

Wednesday, December 31
Michigan State ---- LOSS

Saturday, January 3
Ohio State ---- WIN

Thursday, January 8
At Iowa ----- WIN

Sunday, January 11
Penn State ---- WIN

Thursday, January 15
At Wisconsin ----- LOSS

Sunday, January 18
At Northwestern ---- WIN

Thursday January 22 ---- WIN
Purdue

Sunday, January 26
At Indiana ---- WIN

Wednesday, January 29
Illinois ----- WIN

Wednesday February 4
At Michigan State ---- LOSS

Saturday, February 7
At Ohio State ---- LOSS

Tuesday, February 10
Indiana ---- WIN

Saturday, February 14
At Penn State ---- WIN
 
Thursday, February 19
At Michigan ---- WIN

Sunday, February 22
Northwestern ---- WIN

Thursday, February 26
At Illinois ---- LOSS

Wednesday, March 4
Wisconsin ---- LOSS

Sat .or Sun. March 7 or 8
Michigan ----- WIN

WAY TOO EARLY PREDICATION: 23-7 (12-6)

What's your prediction?