clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Brewster announces 2010 captains

Four players have been named your 2010 Gopher captains. Three of the captains are native Minnesotans. The selections were made by a vote of the team, which was held Sunday night.

"The four young men our team selected to serve as captains are outstanding choices," Brewster said. "Adam, Kim, Jon and Brandon truly personify what it means to be a captain through leadership both on and off the field."


  • Adam Weber - QB - Weber is the only repeat selection. In fact, he is a three-time team captain. He is the only three-time captain in the history of the University of Minnesota football.
  • Jon Hoese - FB - Hoese has made 10 starts at fullback over the past two seasons. He has appeared in 30 career games for the Gophers. Hoese has carried the ball 33 times and scored three touchdowns during his Minnesota career. None of his carries has ever resulted in a loss of yardage


  • Kim Royston - S - Royston finished the season with double-digit tackle performances four times. He also turned in an interception last season, picking off a pass deep in Gopher territory late in the first half, as the Gophers defeated Northwestern. Royston earned his first Minnesota letter in 2009.
  • Brandon Kirksey - DT (junior) - Kirksey finished 2009 with three tackles for loss, two of which came against Cal. Kirksey made one of the biggest plays of 2009, forcing the fumble that Nate Triplett returned for the eventual game-winning touchdown in the TCF Bank Stadium opener vs. Air Force. He is a two-time letterwinner.