clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Paige Tapp Named Third Team All-American (Volleyball)

Gopher Volleyball Player Paige Tapp has been named a 3rd Team All-American by the AVCA!

Paige Tapp
Paige Tapp

Congratulations to Gopher Sophomore Paige Tapp (Middle Blocker) who wass named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association All-American 3rd Team! Paige is joined by Daly Santana (Junior, Outside Hitter) who was named honorable mention. This marks the 4th straight year a Gopher Volleyball player has been named an All-American by the AVCA.

From the article:

After seeing action in 21 sets as a freshman, Tapp broke through during her sophomore campaign. The 6-foot 1-inch middle blocker played in 110 of 111 sets and started in all 31 matches this season. Averaging 1.55 blocks per set and 171 total blocks, Tapp ranks second in school history for total blocks and blocks per set in a single season. The two-time Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week finished the regular season as the nation's third-best blocker and led the Big Ten Conference in blocks per set. Offensively, Tapp hit over .400 in 14 matches and had four contests where she recorded over 10 blocks. On the season, she had 222 kills and hit .354, which ranked in the Big Ten's top 10.

Congratulations again to Paige Tapp & Daly Santana! Way to make us proud. GO GOPHERS! SKI-U-MAH!

Paige Tapp All-American Twitter

Paige Tapp is an All-American

Previous Minnesota All-Americans per

AVCA/NCAA All-America (team)
2014 - Paige Tapp (3), Daly Santana (HM)
2013 - Tori Dixon (1), Ashley Wittman (2), Adrianna Nora (HM)
2012 - Katherine Harms (1), Tori Dixon (2), Ashley Wittman (HM)
2011 - Ashley Wittman (2), Tori Dixon (HM)
2009 - Lauren Gibbemeyer (1), Taylor Carico (3)
2008 - Brook Dieter (2), Lauren Gibbemeyer (3), Christine Tan (HM)
2006 - Meredith Nelson (2), Malama Peniata (HM)
2005 - Paula Gentil (HM)
2004 - Kelly Bowman (1), Paula Gentil (1), Erin Martin (HM)
2003 - Cassie Busse (1), Paula Gentil (2)
2002 - Cassie Busse (2), Paula Gentil (3)
2000 - Nicole Branagh (2), Stephanie Hagen (2)
1999 - Nicole Branagh (2)
1996 - Katrien DeDecker (1)
1982 - Jill Halsted (HM)