clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Media Days 2014: Preseason All B1G Teams Overlook Gophers

Is anyone surprised by this? No.

Streeter Lecka

The 48-72 hours leading up to the Big Ten Media Circus Days in Chicago are full of "media predictions" and discussion. Part of that is the unofficial Preseason All B1G Team voting that the Big Ten Network puts together. In an outcome that should shock about 3 people (total, in the world) the Gophers were not well represented on this list. Before we get to my thoughts, let's take a look at who made the list.

NOTE: 1st team selections are in bold, unanimous selections are in italics, and total votes are listed behind the players. If you want to see who the voters were and who each one voted for, scroll to the end of BTN's post.


Braxton Miller, Ohio State (13 votes)
Christian Hackenberg, Penn State (1)

Running Back

Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin (13)
Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska (12)
Jeremy Langford, Michigan State (2)
Tevin Coleman, Indiana; Venric Mark, Northwestern (1)

Wide Receiver

Stefon Diggs, Maryland (12)
Devin Funchess, Michigan (7)
Kenny Bell, Nebraska; Shane Wynn, Indiana (4)
Tony Lippett, Michigan State (1)

Tight End

Jeff Heuerman, Ohio State (7)
Tyler Kroft, Rutgers (3)
Jesse James, Penn State; Maxx Williams, Minnesota (2)


Jack Allen, Michigan State (10)
Dan Voltz, Wisconsin (2)
Austin Blythe, Iowa; Brandon Vitabile, Northwestern (1)


Zac Epping, Minnesota (7)
Kyle Costigan, Wisconsin (6)
Jake Cotton, Nebraska; Kaleb Johnson, Rutgers (5)
Pat Elfein, Ohio State (3)
Jordan Walsh, Iowa; Josh Campion, Minnesota (1)


Brandon Scherff, Iowa (14)
Rob Havenstein, Wisconsin (9)
Donovan Smith, Penn State; Jason Spriggs, Indiana (2)
Keith Lumpkin, Rutgers (1)


Michael Geiger, Michigan State (11)
Brad Craddock, Maryland (2)
Sam Ficken, Penn State (1)


Defensive Line

Shilique Calhoun, Michigan State (14)
Randy Gregory, Nebraska (14)
Michael Bennett, Ohio State (10)
Joey Bosa, Ohio State (9)
Carl Davis, Iowa (6)
Andre Monroe, Maryland; Ryan Russell, Purdue (1)


Jake Ryan, Michigan (13)
Chi Chi Ariguzo, Northwestern (10)
Taiwan Jones, Michigan State (9)
Mike Hull, Penn State (6)
Steve Longa, Rutgers (2)
Mason Monheim, Illinois; Desmond Morgan, Michigan; David Santos, Nebraska; Curtis Grant, Ohio State (1)

Defensive Back

Kurtis Drummond, Michigan State (14)
Blake Countess, Michigan (9)
Ibraheim Campbell, Northwestern (8)
Trae Waynes, Michigan State (7)
Jordan Lucas, Penn State (5)
Doran Grant, Ohio State (3)
Desmond King, Iowa; Corey Cooper, Nebraska; Adrian Amos, Penn State (2)
Earnest Thomas, Illinois; John Lowdermilk, Iowa; William Likely, Maryland; Eric Murray, Minnesota (1)


Mike Sadler, Michigan State (9)
Cameron Johnston, Ohio State (4)
Peter Mortell, Minnesota (1)

Gophers On The List

Josh Campion - 1 vote at Guard

Zac Epping - 7 votes (1st Team) at Guard

Eric Murray - 1 vote at Defensive Back

Peter Mortell - 1 vote at Punter

Maxx Williams - 2 votes at Tight End


- Note that I'm not actually annoyed by the outcome of an unofficial poll of only 12 writers. That said, Y U NO VOTE MOOSE UNANIMOUS FIRST TEAM WRITERZ OF THE BIG TEN?

- The media loves them some Zach Epping, with votes coming from the Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Nebraska, Ohio State, Purdue, and Rutgers writers. No Fuller love though.

- Eric Murray and Peter Mortell are definitely underrated.

- Getting 2 votes in a position that gets only 12 isn't too bad for a young guy like Maxx.

- I'd love to see Cobb get a vote but given the dominance of Gordon and Abdullah it doesn't bug me that he didn't.

- I'd like to rag on Adam Johnson from fellow SBN site Crimson Quarry for voting for Hackenburg at QB, but he was the sole voter to recognize the GIF-able brilliance of Mortell so we'll let it slide.

- Glad to see BTN pulling in Adam and Mike Fiammetta from Bucky's 5th Quarter for the voting. The #SBNTakeover is underway.

What do you think?

What Gophers did the writers miss?

How much higher should Murray and Mortell be?