clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Hollins and Walker Named All-Big Ten Honorable Mention

it was otherwise a Gopher free awards ceremony

Jesse Johnson-USA TODAY Sports

Gopher seniors Andre Hollins and Mo Walker were both named to the All-Big Ten Honorable Mention list on Monday night.  Hollins was on both the Media and Coaches list, while Walker just was on the media list.

No Gophers appeared on any of the other lists announced including all three All-Big Ten squads, the all-Defensive Team, or the All-Freshman team.

Frank Kaminsky of Wisconsin was named both the coaches and media Big Ten Player of the year , including unanimously by the media.  He was also the only unanimous selection for thre All-Big Ten First Team.  Other playewrs in the All-Big Ten First Team selected by the coaches included Yogi Ferrell from Indiana, Aaron White from Iowa, Dez Wells from Maryland, and D'Angelo Russell from Ohio State.  The media selections were similar with the exception that Melo Trimble of Maryland was selected over his Terp teammate Wells.

The All-Big Ten Second Team was also similar between the coaches and media selections with the exception of Wells/Trimble.  The others on the second team included Brandon Dawson of Michigan State, D.J. Newbill of Penn State, A. J. Hammonds of Purdue, and Sam Dekker of Wisconsin.

The Third Team selections were also nearly similar.  players making both the coaches and media lists were Travis Trice and Denzel Valentine of Michigan State, Terran Petteway of Nebraska, and Nigel Hayes of Wisconsin.  The media also added Jake Layman of Maryland, while the coaches added Jarrod Uthoff of Iowa.

The All-Big Ten Freshman team consisted of two players previously honored in Trimble of Maryland and Russell of Ohio State.  The other three players honored were James Blackmon, Jr. of Indiana, Bryant McIntosh of Northwestern, and Jae-Sean Tate of OSU.  Russell was named Freshman of the Year by both the coaches and media.

Defensive Player of the Year was given to Raphael Davis of Purdue.  Davis and Hammonds from Purdue, Dawson from MSU were joined by John Gasser of Wisconsin and Nnanna Egwu of Illinois on the All-Defensive Team.

Coach of the Year was another split decision, with Bo Ryan getting the nod from the coaches, and Mark Turgeon getting the honor from the media.

Congrats to all of the winners