Patty Kazmaier Award Winner Revealed Saturday Morning


In conjunction with the NCAA Women's Frozen Four, the 2015 Patty Kazmaier Award will be presented Saturday morning in a ceremony at McNamera Alumni Center. It will be awarded to one of three finalists, two of whom will be playing in the Frozen Four this weekend.

The three finalists include Minnesota junior forward Hannah Brandt, Boston College redshirt junior forward Alex Carpenter, and Boston University redshirt senior forward Marie-Phillip Poulin. Both Carpenter and Poulin missed the 2013-14 season to play for their national teams in the Sochi Olympics, Carpenter for the US, and Poulin for Canada. Brandt meanwhile was one of the three finalists for this award as well last season that was eventually awarded to Clarkson's Jamie Lee Rattay.

All three candidates have great credentials for the award. Carpenter led the nation in almost every offensive category in leading Boston College to a regular season Hockey East Championship. Brandt was second behind Carpenter in most every offensive category prior to last weekend, and led Minnesota to a regular season WCHA Championship. Poulin was in the top ten in scoring in the nation and led BU to the Hockey East Tournament Championship.

The Daily Gopher will be at the award ceremony Saturday Morning, and will have full coverage of the presentation. Carpenter seems to be the betting favorite, but no one is ruling out either Brandt or Poulin from winning the award. We shall find out tomorrow.