clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Amanda Zahui B. Named a Naismith Finalist

The Sophomore would be the first Gopher to win the award

Gopher Athletics

Amanda Zahui B. was named a Naismith Finalist. The Minnesota sophomore is one of four finalists. Jewell Loyd of Notre Dame, Tiffany Mitchell of South Carolina, and Breanna Stewart of UCONN. No Minnesota player has ever won the award.

Zahui B. was the media's Big Ten Player of the Year, and a unanimous first team All-Big Ten team selection. She averaged a double double per game with at 18.8 points and 12.6 rebounds, as well as over four blocks per contest. Though only a sophomore, Zahui B. is already Minnesota's career leader in blocked shots.

Minnesota plays DePaul in the first round of the NCAA Tournament today at 4pm CST.