clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minnesota Hockey Wins Big Ten Title, Thirds Straight For The Gophers!

The Gophers finish strong in the third period to earn a third Big Ten title with a 4-1 win over the Wisconsin Badgers!

That's a three-peat friends! The Minnesota Gophers are Big Ten Champions for the third season in a row following a 3-1 victory over the Wisconsin Badgers at Mariucci Arena. The title was in doubt as late as the second intermission, as the Gophers were only tied 1-1 after two periods.

The third period was all Minnesota though. The Gophers scored 3 goals (1 ENG) and survived a strong late Wisconsin power play to bring home another banner. There is more work to be done with an NCAA title berth hanging on the Big Ten Tournament, but for tonight we should all celebrate our Big Ten Champs!

In addition to winning every Big Ten Title to date, the Gophers are all the first 5 consecutive conference champions since Boston University in 1994-1998 (Minnesota were the final two champions of the old WCHA before moving to the B1G). It's a fantastic accomplishment and another thing to enjoy at the end of a long season.