clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Awards Watch List Roundup

NCAA Football: Big Ten Media Day Jerry Lai-USA TODAY Sports

Awards Watch List Week is now over. The Gophers saw Mitch Leidner listed for the Maxwell, Brandon Lingen noted for the Mackey, and Ryan Santoso nominated for the Groza. But what about the rest of the Big Ten?

There were a couple things I noticed when reading through the rest of the B1G’s nominees:

  • The Rimington Trophy (given to CFB’s top center) is defintely ok with naming guys who haven’t played center before.
  • As you’d expect, there are many B1G tight ends on the John Mackey watch list.
  • Anyone who spent too much (read: any) time concerned about Mitch Leidner’s appearance on the Maxwell Award watch list all I have to say to you is Wes Lunt. That’s right, Wes Lunt is on the Maxwell watch list. Preseason watch lists are big for a reason.

The B1G SBN blog post about each nomination is linked after each player’s name, except in cases where our fellow blog didn’t write a post or where they wrote a roundup.


Wes Lunt (Maxwell Award)

Hardy Nickerson Jr. (Nagurski Trophy)


Simmie Cobbs Jr. (Maxwell Award)

Dan Feeny (Outland Trophy)

Griffin Oakes (Groza Award)


(Watch List roundup here from BHGP)

C.J. Beathard (Maxwell Award)

Sean Welsh (Rimington Trophy)

George Kittle (Mackey Award)

Jaleel Johnson (Outland Trophy)

Desmond King (Bernarik Award, Nagurski Trophy)

Josey Jewel (Nagurski)


Brenden Moore (Rimington Trophy)

Will Likely (Nagurski, Bednarik)


Jake Butts (Mackey Award)

Jabrill Peppers, Jourdan Lewis, Chris Wormley (Nagurski Trophy)

Mason Cole (Rimington Trophy)

Mason Cole, Erik Magnuson (Outland Trophy)

Michigan State

Brian Allen (Rimington Trophy, Outland Trophy)

Malik McDowell (Outland Tropy, Nagurski Trophy, Bednarik Award)

Riley Bullough(Nagurski Trophy, Bednarik Award)

Josiah Price (Mackey Award)


Tommy Armstong (Maxwell Award) & Nate Gerry (Bednarik) - COMBO POST

Sam Foltz (Ray Guy Award)

Drew Brown (Lou Groza Award)


Justin Jackson (Maxwell Award)

Anthony Walker (Bednarik Award)

Ohio State

JT Barrett (Maxwell Award)

Tyquan Lewis (Nagurski Trophy, Bednarik Award)

Raekwon McMillan (Nagurski Trophy, Bednarik Award)

Pat Elflein (Rimington Trophy, Outland Trophy)

Billy Price (Outland Trophy)

Cameron Johnston (Ray Guy Award)

Penn State

Saquon Barkley, Chris Godwin, Jason Cabinda (Maxwell, Bednarik combo post)

Mike Gesiki (Mackey Award)


Jake Replogle (Nagurski Trophy, Bednarik Award)


Darius Hamilton (Bednarik Award)


Corey Clement (Maxwell Award)

Vince Biegel (Nagurski Trophy, Bednarik Award)