clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minnesota Football: Mackey Award watch list includes both Brandon Lingen and Nate Wozniak!

Double the tight end award fun.

Michigan v Minnesota Photo by Hannah Foslien/Getty Images

What’s better than one Minnesota tight end being put on the Mackey Award watch list? Two Gopher TE’s getting on the watch list!

Both Brandon Lingen and Nate Wozniak are now in the running to be named best tight end in college football. The last Gopher to win the award? Matt Spaeth in 2006.

If Lingen comes back to form after an injury shortened 2016 season, he certainly has the better shot of the two at continuing to draw attention. That said, when you’re talking about an award that even Maxx Williams didn’t win, both guys will have to show a lot of production to still be in the running later this season.