clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gopher Volleyball Earns No. 2 Seed

After winning the Big Ten, Minnesota earned sub-regional and regional hosting privileges in the NCAA Tournament as they were given a top four seed.

Jon Johnston

The 2018 Big Ten Champion Minnesota Golden Gophers (25-3, 19-1) will host the first two weekends of the NCAA Tournament. The Gophers will get to stay home all Tournament long as they look to the win the National Championship in their backyard this season.

The Final Four will be played at the Target Center in Minneapolis December 13th with the National Championship on December 15th. Minnesota will be looking to return to the Final Four after losing in the regional semi-final round last season ending their run of back-to-back Final Fours.

RPI No. 2 Minnesota earned the No. 2 seed after only dropping one Big Ten match and two in non-conference play. Minnesota went 8-3 versus the RPI Top 25, 1-0 versus 26-50 and 10-0 versus 51-100. The Gophers came into the weekend having played the fifth-toughest schedule.

Minnesota will host Bryant, South Carolina, and Colorado in their sub-regional. The Gophers will face Bryant in the first round on November 30th. South Carolina and Colorado will faceoff in the other matchup. The second round match will be on December 1st at the Pav.

The full bracket can be found here.

The Top Sixteen Seeds are as follows:

  1. Stanford
  2. Minnesota
  3. Illinois
  4. BYU
  5. Texas
  6. Wisconsin
  7. Nebraska
  8. Penn State
  9. Creighton
  10. Kentucky
  11. USC
  12. Pitt
  13. UCF
  14. Marquette
  15. Oregon
  16. Washington State.

In addition to the top seeds, Michigan and Purdue made the field representing the Big Ten. The Pac-12 put eight teams into the tournament.

Check back later in the week for a full tournament and weekend preview.