clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minnesota Hockey: Casey Mittelstadt Named to Big Ten All-Freshman Team

Minnesota did not take home a lot of Big Ten awards

Casey Mittelstadt was named to the Big Ten All-Freshman team

The Big Ten announced their season end awards for hockey on Tuesday, and there were not a ton of honors for the Minnesota Golden Gophers. Gopher freshman Casey Mittelstadt was one of the three finalists for the Big Ten Freshman of the Year award, but was only honored on the Big Ten All-Freshman team as the FOY honor went to Michigan State Spartans forward Mitch Lewandowski. No other Gophers were even finalists for any of the other individual awards.

Additionally, no Gophers were named to either the first or second All-Big Ten teams. Both junior forward Tyler Sheehy and sophomore defenseman Ryan Lindgren were named honorable mentions. Gopher senior Mike Szmatula was named the Gophers recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

With Minnesota’s fifth place finish in the Big Ten its not a surprise that the Gophers were not represented in the individual year end awards. The Player of the Year and Goalie of the Year Awards went to Notre Dame Fighting Irish goaltender Cale Morris. Penn State Nittany Lions defenseman Trevor Hamilton was named the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, and Michigan Wolverines Cooper Marody was named the Big Ten scoring champion. Ohio State Buckeyes coach Steve Rohlik was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year. The full All-Big Ten teams are listed below:


Cooper Marody, F, Michigan

Jake Evans, F, Notre Dame

Tanner Laczynski, F, Ohio State

Jordan Gross, D, Notre Dame

Trevor Hamilton, D, Penn State

Cale Morris, G, Notre Dame


Tony Calderone, F, Michigan

Taro Hirose, F, Michigan State

Mason Jobst, F, Ohio State

Quinn Hughes, D, Michigan

Sasha Larocque, D, Ohio State

Sean Romeo, G, Ohio State


Mitchell Lewandowski, F, Michigan State

Tyler Sheehy, F, Minnesota

Matthew Weis, F, Ohio State

Andrew Sturtz, F, Penn State

Trent Frederic, F, Wisconsin

Carson Gatt, D, Michigan State

Ryan Lindgren, D, Minnesota

Wyatt Kalynuk, D, Wisconsin

Peter Tischke, D, Wisconsin

Hayden Lavigne, G, Michigan



Casey Mittelstadt, F, Minnesota

Linus Weissbach, F, Wisconsin

Quinn Hughes, D, Michigan

Wyatt Kalynuk, D, Wisconsin

Tommy Nappier, G, Ohio State

The Gophers now await their fate to see f they will make it to the NCAA Tournament as an at-large selection. The Selection show will take place on Sunday, but we will have a preview on Friday of all the other conference tournament games going on this weekend and who Minnesota fans should root for to ensure that the Gophers season is not over.