clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Laurence Maroney and Janel McCarville Headline Latest M Club Hall of Fame

2004 NCAA Women’s Final Four: Minnesota v UCONN Photo by Elsa/Getty Images

Laurence Maroney and Janel McCarville headline the latest University of Minnesota M Club Hall of Fame Class. Alongside them are Heather (Dorniden) Kampf, Damion Hahn, James McLean, Pam (Miller) Dombeck, Chris Paulos, Jim Peterson, and Justin Smith. In total, the class combined for 26 All-America honors and nine national titles (individual and team).

The M Club Hall of Fame members are prominently displayed at the entrance of the T. Denny Sanford Athletics Hall of Fame inside TCF Bank Stadium. Inductees are nominated by a research committee, who forward approximately 24 finalists every year to a voting committee of current and former coaches, athletics administrators, and all University letter winners.

Heather (Dorniden) Kampf was the Gophers’ first women’s track and field national champion, winning the indoor 800m in 2006. She also finished runner up in the outdoor 800m in 2006 and the indoor 800m in 2008. She is also the program’s only two-time Academic All-American.

Damion Hahn was a three time Big Ten champion, and a two-time national champion wrestling in the 197 class. He was also a four time All-American and compiled a career record of 118-21.

Laurence Maroney was an First Team All-American after his junior season. He is the second all-time leading rusher in program history and second all-time in 100-yard rushing games, despite only playing for three years.

Janel McCarville graduated as Minnesota’s career leader in blocks, second in rebounds, and fifth in scoring. She was named First-Team All Big Ten three times and First-Team All-American twice.

James McLean is Minnesota’s second ever individual national champion in golf. He continues to hold the program record for career scoring average.

Pam (Miller) Dombeck left Minnesota volleyball as the all-time leader in career blocks and kills. Her blocks record stood for almost 25 years. She was a two time All-Big Ten selection and named First-Team All Region her senior year.

Chris Paulos was a four time letter winner in soccer and field hockey. Paulos is the field hockey program’s all-time leader in goals. In softball, she played on two College World Series teams.

Jim Peterson was the first Gopher gymnast to win a national championship (1948), and reamins Minnesota’s only men’s vault national champion. Peterson was a five-time All-American in 1948.

Justin Smith was a three time All-American in Men’s golf, and made the putt to clinch the program’s national championship in 2002. Smith is currently the associate head coach for the Men’s golf team.

Congratulations to the new inductees!